Week 3 – Hello new year!

It’s a new year. What, you say?  No, it’s August!  It is for me though, and for many other people.  The academic year began again this week  For me that meant several events to attend.  Some of them conflicted with my normal schedule and some of them had food so I had to make choices.  I did ok but I didn’t make the best choices 100% of the time.  I am not beating myself up for though and that is a big difference from the past.  I know that a meal that isn’t perfect here and there is not the end of the world.  The key (back to the CATtitude), is consistency.

Last weekend I had quite a few stray vegetables left over that needed to be used up so I made up a soup.  It wasn’t bad and it was a good way to use the okra.  Okra gave it some texture and thickness that it would not have had otherwise.  It wasn’t great but it wasn’t awful either.  It helped to have the soup to grab several days this week.   My go to for breakfast is oatmeal or a mixture of steel cut oats, barley, and quinoa that I cook in the crockpot in large batches.  My mistake this week was that I ran out.  That left me scrambling for breakfast two days because I didn’t have time to cook more during the week.  I did discover that I can batch regular oatmeal and freeze it.  I am going to cook some more this weekend and prepare.  This morning I already made a batch of the steel cut oat mixture for the week.

I missed a couple of workouts during the week because of my schedule but I will be back on track next week.  I did make it to IronTribe three days,  rode my bike twice, and swam once.  I also taught a restorative yoga class and practiced yoga several times this week.

The bike continues to be a work in progress.  It will just take consistent riding to get back to the mileage I was doing a few years ago.  I am riding between 13-17 mph fairly consistently.  The thing is that I am not sure how many miles I want to do.  I rode about 20 miles this week and that felt about right.   The regular route I used to ride a few times a week is 24 miles.  I would like to ride that route again on a regular basis.  I know I can.  I just have to decide where my priorities are right now and where I will spend time.

The Transformation Challenge is coming up at IronTribe.  This is a six week challenge for athletes to measure progress.  It begins before the 8 week commitment is over but it will be a good bridge for me to keep me going, especially with the travel I have coming up for work.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in bikes, exercise, Iron Tribe, nutrition, swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

