Buy the socks

A few weeks ago my friend Leslie and I went to hear Anne Lamott who was on a book tour for her new book, Hallelujah Anyway: Rediscovering Mercy. It was at least the third time I have heard Anne Lamott.  One of the gems I left with was, “buy the socks.” She asked if we would buy a girl friend cool socks?  Of course.  Then do it for yourself.  This might sound like a silly point but I do have a point for the metaphor.

socks

For me it’s more than the physical pair of socks I might buy for myself.  Though aren’t these great socks?  One pair is from a trip to Nashville, purchased in a funky store with lots of kitschy stuff.  The striped pair is from my friend Morgan’s shop in Birmingham and they are made in Alabama.

But back to my point.  It’s more than socks.  Much more.   The socks are a metaphor for experiences that I wouldn’t trade for anything.  I would not know Leslie or Morgan if I had not taken the chance and signed up for yoga teacher training.  Now they are two of my amazing yoga friends.  I’ve thought quite a bit about many of the other things I have done over the years.  I have traveled quite a few places.  I don’t really think about it as unusual though I have had comments made to me suggesting other people think it is.  I’ve stayed in some wonderful places and made great friends along the way.  Triathlon gave me experiences and provided friendships that I could never have imagined.  Though I am not racing right now, I treasure many of the friends I have made and the places I have been to race.  I’ve learned so much about myself and what I can really do when faced with difficult challenges.  I could go on but this seems to be getting a little sappy.

So, buy the cool socks.  Have great experiences.  Take some risks.  Enjoy your life.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in #whatsknocking, challenges, choices, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

