What’s knocking? #Quest2016

Prompt two greeted me in my inbox this morning.  Jonathan Fields, author, dad, founder of the Good Life Project,  challenged the group with the following:

You wake up to discover a knock at your door. A wealthy uncle you barely knew has passed and left you a fortune. It’s more than enough to live out your days in glorious splendor, but there is a condition. To be eligible to collect, you must commit your full-time working energies to the pursuit of an answer to a single question of your choosing for the next 12 months.

You are welcome to continue that pursuit after the year ends, for years or decades if it warrants, but you must remain fully focused on seeking the answer until the last minute of the 365th day. A minute shorter, the entire inheritance goes to your annoying and equally long lost cousin, Philly.

What is your question?

– See more at: Tracking Wonder Quest 2016 #Quest2016, #Whatsknocking

It didn’t take me long to come up with an answer for this prompt.  I have been living the same question, or a variation of it, for several years.  How do I combine story, spirit and health to create good for others (and for my own life)?  These three elements have been the focus of my work and study for some time. I look for pieces and how they combine and meld.  I have created workshops, classes, and stories around them. I look for answers and I find variations.  There is no one answer that fits everyone. What can I offer the world from what I have been given? From my gifts, talents and passions?  Pursuing these questions makes my life richer and, I hope, the world around me richer.

I will live this quepassion and my lifestion (or group of questions) with or without a ton of money.  I need to do different things to keep me going and to spark ideas and connections because my ideas do not come from one place.  A year off to concentrate on a question would be lovely – it’s called sabbatical and I had one many years ago. It was glorious.  But I know myself.  I have too many interests.  They feed back to my one compelling question but others do not always see that because they don’t understand how I think and work.  My guess is the Uncle Moneypants, as fellow quester  Brenna Lane dubbed him, wouldn’t see my wandering mind as logical enough or linear enough to warrant the money at the end of the year.

I will keep on pursuing the questions that are knocking anyway.  They are my life’s work.

IMG_0389

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in #quest2016, #whatsknocking, challenges, change, choices, passion, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s knocking? #Quest2016

  1. philipparees says:

    Ditto.Uncle moneypants is irrelevant. But deciding on the pursuit a reward on its own!

Leave a Reply

