Month 8: Exploration

20151016_123340

I spent Friday with Big Magic and dark chocolate instead of with my yoga sisters.

It’s month 8 of yoga school.  I find it so hard to believe that I am almost finished with the part of my yoga journey but also not hard at all to believe.  It has just passed so quickly.

I missed Friday night because my flight from New York was delayed.  It was disappointing but much better to finally get home, re-group and get some sleep before heading into Saturday and Sunday.  Thank you to Melissa Scott for encouraging me to go home and get some sleep. This month was our sampler weekend and we were so fortunate to have several guest teachers come and lead us through various kinds of yoga.

On Saturday we had three guests. Nancy Roberts teaches Fat Girl Yoga.  She draws on her rich background and training in ashtanga, kundalini, restorative, yin, chair and curvy yoga to provide a unique class that is accessible while also being challenging.  Do not let the title of Nancy’s class fool you.  It is not just for fat girls.  It is for anyone who wants a great class and experience.

Melissa and Nancy

 

20151017_134536

Natalie Sydes

Natalie Sydes joined us for Restorative Yoga.  I have taken classes from Natalie since I returned to yoga last fall.  Her classes are full of wisdom, stories and compassion.  She challenges students while providing a healing, calm environment.  I love all that Natalie includes in her classes and teaching.

20151017_154000

Shannon Hancock

Our last guest of the day was Shannon Hancock, who introduced us to Kundalini yoga. This is a style of yoga that many people start out hating, including me.  I have tried kundalini a few times and it never goes well, which Shannon explained is normal.  It is a style that is so different than anything else I have done.  Yet, even as I write that I haven’t really enjoyed it, it is a style of yoga that energizes me.  One of the aspects that takes me back, or makes me think about going back to a class, is that everyone I know who practices kundalini yoga on a regular basis is so content.  It is one of the most challenging styles I have tried.

We wrapped up the day with a treat from Melissa:  SOL Lights out Dancing.  I was so happy – best.thing.ever.  I have been wanting to go to a class but just haven’t been able to make it to Birmingham or stay after a class for a session.  We had 30 minutes of dancing in the dark.  It was awesome.

20151018_135258Our final guest on Sunday was Annie Damsky, owner of Villager Yoga and teacher of prenatal and kids yoga, among many other things.  Annie helped us understand what to do if a pregnant woman came to one of our regular classes, how to help modify poses, and when to help someone realize that a particular class might not be a good idea.  She led us through a short kids yoga practice, which was as fun as it sounds, and then talked about what to be aware of when teaching children.  There are many benefits for children but we also need to be aware that they are still growing so at certain times there are poses that may just not feel good or may not be good for them to do.  Annie also talked to us about running a yoga studio and provided some insight from her experience. 20151018_153109

20151018_153101 20151018_153245

In addition to our exploration of yoga styles, we explored the topic of ethics and yoga teaching and how to write a great bio.  My bio needs to be re-written!

The weekend was a good introduction of the many ways that yoga is taught.  There is a style for everyone and a teacher for everyone.  Go explore.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, passion, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

