Let go and soar: Where am I headed?

So much is happening in my life – changes that I never expected, opportunities I could not imagine.  There is a lot to process and think about.  I am trying not to overplan, one of the things I often do, and just let things come and go.  I’ve let go of some things that I could not have predicted even a few months ago and I have invited other things in that I also would not have predicted.

Letting go

20140726_064308I have basically let go of triathlon training and racing for now.  I cancelled the two triathlons that I had planned on participating in this year due to other opportunities appearing which I will talk about in a bit.  Triathlon has changed my life and I have dear friends in the sport who I hope to remain in touch with and see again.  Right now I am in a different season, however, and I had to give something up. I am still training – swimming and strength training are my main focus.  I need to get out on my bike again soon but the temperatures are near 100 degrees in Alabama right now so it is not really the time to start getting back on my bike.  I had fully expected to complete a century ride this summer or at least this year but I do not foresee that happening.  Even though I am not a hard core competitor, I am grateful for a break from competition focused training.

I am also in the process of determining what else I need to let go of in my life.  This will take some time and effort.  In December I cleaned and cleared out a great deal of clutter and things in my house in order to make space for new things to come in.  And new things did come in. I have more work to do.  I have been seriously contemplating putting my house on the market but it has not seemed like the right time yet.  I am thoughtfully considering when the right time is to put up the for sale sign and see what happens next.  It is a scary thing to do.  I have a number of friends who have sold houses pretty fast since the spring and I think if I engage with the right realtor, I may as well.  It’s an unknown though.  There are a number of things holding me back and one is clearing out the rest of my stuff that I will never use or need again. And I have to replace the dishwasher.  Most of things that need to be done are minor by themselves.  They just add up to a long list to check off and I need to make the list.  I’ll get there.  I spent the weekend shredding paper which I find mentally exhausting but I can see progress.  I need to continue working away on my house.  I love my house but I am feeling ready to be in a smaller place and not worry about a yard again.  There are also places to live that would be more convenient for work and getting to the places where I go most in the area.

Yoga teacher training and more 

Yoga teacher training has been an unexpected joy.  I could never have predicted that this is where I would be at this point in my life.  I have two classes scheduled for fall (one actually begins in August) and have been leading a group of friends for a few weeks.  I love it and it combines beautifully with my health education background.

I have been working through the process of “what’s next?” and trying to figure out some of the issues I need to resolve.  It is a challenging and enlightening process.  I don’t have answers yet but I have some glimmers.  I have been working with a coach on some activities that involve visual art and creating meaning through images.  It is fascinating and also a bit difficult to explain.  The images I select are used to create my story.  I am currently sitting with a second group of images and working on seeing what kind of story I see in them. This is a process that is helping me see where and how yoga and other things I am passionate about fit into my life.

2601I am also writing again. This began in January when I joined a challenge on Facebook posted by Matt Frazier, the No Meat Athlete,  and his sister Christine Frazier.  It was a great challenge that combined writing and working out every day of the month.  The challenge continued but it wasn’t as intense as January.  I have wanted to write about my experience over the past five years and have tried to shape what has happened into a book but haven’t stuck with it.  In May I joined a mentoring group that will run six months and is helping me shape my book and ideas.  The group is fantastic so far and I am writing and working through drafts and ideas.  We’ll see what I have at the end of six months.  I think this will be a longer process than I expect but it is great to be writing and shaping stories again.

It’s all fun and keeping me pretty busy for now.

 

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in challenges, change, choices. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let go and soar: Where am I headed?

  1. Barb says:

    Starting to make my own transitions to something new, it is inspiring to hear how your changes are unfolding in such interesting and unexpected ways!

Leave a Reply

