A week in California: A full heart

Earlier 2015-06-23 18.58.04this week I returned from another trip to California.  It was a wonderful week filled with exploring the Northern California coast, spending time with a dear friend, going to some wonderful yoga classes and attending the ALA conference in San Francisco.  I’m not sure when I will be back but I left with a heart full of joy and knowing that I had wonderful adventures.

I began this journey at one of my favorite places on the California coast – Goat Rock.  The wind was strong but the beach was as beautiful as ever.  It was close to sunset but I did not stay to see the sunset on the Pacific.  I will at some point in the future.

I spent my few days in Northern California back at Riversea, the little cottage where I st2015-06-24 13.30.34ayed during spring break.  It is just the right size and I enjoy talking to the owners, Jim and Kathy.  I did not get to see Kathy this time because she was on the road but I talked to Jim a few times.

There were several woodpeckers in the trees this time as well as several other birds. I loved watching the birds out the kitchen window and while sitting on the porch.  It has been a joy to observe the differences in seasons over the past year.  I visited Armstrong Woods again as well and got lost in the woods, following the sound of two trumpeters who were playing deep in the woods.  I never found them but the music surrounded me as I walked the trails and didn’t worry about time or where I was headed.

20150629_141606

I went to two of Anna’s wonderful classes at three dog yoga, one of my favorite places to practice yoga.  One class was a power class and one was a flow class.  This was my first opportunity to take classes with Anna and I look foward to more when I return.  Her humor and wisdom add much to the classes and I came away with so much that will help my practice and teaching.

My yoga plans in San Francisco didn’t work as I had hoped due to scheduling.  I did go to Integral Yoga on Sunday afternoon for a two hour restorative cl20150628_160310ass, however.  It was exactly what I needed as I often find when going to yoga classes.  Claudia led us through a restful and restorative session that included time in yoga nidra.  Any tension I was holding from running around the exhibit floor and to sessions melted into the floor and mat.

A20150628_103434LA held some nice surprises.  I didn’t have committee meetings this time as I thought I would so I was able to attend sessions and events that I don’t usually have time for.  I made it to the Alexander Street Press breakfast for the first time in many years and heard Cynthia Sandberg from Love Apple Farms in Santa Cruz.  She talked about biodynamics and the way they grow food on the farm. This is a step beyond organic and was fascinating.  I have a list of books that I want to read and I would love to visit the farm when I am out again.  I also heard Haifaa Al-Mansour talk about her book and film, The Green Bicycle.  In the exhibits I picked up a number of uncorrected proofs and pre-published books.  I also met Miriam Gates and received a signed copy of her children’s book, Good Night Yoga. Of course I attended my regular round of meetings with my vendors as well.

I flew home on a red eye Monday night but I had a chance to see the Golden Gate Bridge one more time before I left. I know that I will return to California.  I’m looking forward to new adventures whenever they may be.

Golden Gate Bridge

 

 

 

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in choices, passion, yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

