30 for 30 fitness challenge wrap-up

I participated in Hilary Phelps’ 30 for 30 fitness challenge in April.  I made 27 for 30, which I am just fine with.  I kept track of what I did on a separate page that you can find at the top of the blog.

What did I learn?  I make a choice every day.  Do I get up or do I sleep an extra hour?  If I sleep an extra hour do I find time later in the day to workout?  For the most part I have gotten into the early morning routine and this challenge helped me get back on track.  I was having a hard time getting up for a while.  I also took different style yoga classes and went to classes with different and new teachers.  I am really enjoying my renewed yoga practice quite a bit and it is interesting to practice new styles even if I don’t think they will be my long term practice.

My off days.  I needed a day off mid way through the month.  I also took two days after my week of travel – one to catch up and one because I have a minor injury that I am trying to let heal.  I don’t beat myself up for rest days.  I know my body better than I used to and I know when I absolutely need some down time more than I need a 20 mile bike ride.

2015-04-25 13.11.12

The most fun I had all month was at the Yin Yoga Intensive.  It was a wonderful two days and I am looking forward to the next workshop that I am going to at the end of May.  I am really hoping to teaching Yin Yoga soon.

I am glad I took the challenge.  It re-energized me and helped me get back on track with my daily routine.  I also paid more attention to what I was eating and started prepping better again.   What I love most is the choices that I make to be healthy.  That is ongoing and won’t end with the end of the challenge.

yoga kim

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in challenges, change, choices, exercise, passion, training, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

