Different practices

I hadn’t realized that it has been almost two weeks since I posted.  I still have a list of topics I want to write about – my continuing ed training with Hearth to Health, a post on DNF’s and the world not ending, and this one about the new yoga classes I have attended this week.

On Sunday I went to a Kundalini yoga class for the first time.  I really was not sure what to expect. I had heard a few things about kundalini yoga but experienced none of them in the class.  What I did experience was a practice that included chanting, meditation, asanas, kriyas,mudras, and rest.  I really enjoyed the experience and I will return to the class. Poses are held for several minutes.  There were some that I was unable to do for various reasons. It is difficult to sit on my knees for a long period of time. I am unable to do head or shoulder stands due to my eyes.  There were modifications, however.

The amazing thing about the kundalini practice was the gong that Chris played for several minutes at the end.  The sound enters the entire body.  It is difficult to explain in words.

This week I have also had the pleasure of returning to Bala Yoga in Kirkland, Washington.  I have been to two Yin Yoga classes with Pam Chang and will spend the next two days with her in an intensive teacher training.  Yin is one of my favorite styles of yoga  The poses are held several minutes in this style as well.The focus is on letting go and softening the body.  When this happens, you can go more deeply into the pose than imagined.  One class focused on shoulders. I learned some lovely poses that I will use at home.

 

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in challenges, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

