Five rides, four swims and then some: Update on the 30 for 30 challenge

 

I have a number of posts in mind but I have not had much time this week.  I wanted to write a brief update on the 30 for 30 challennge though.  So far, so good.   Since the beginning of April I have worked out every day.  I’m back on track and back in my routine.

Getting back out on my road bike has been fantastic  The weather has been beautiful and I have ridden five times – 96 miles total since April 1.  My speed is improving again and I am back to being able to ride at 15-18 mph  for stretches.

I swam four times so far. Twice with Sam and twice on my own. One of the things that became reallyswim cap obvious to me this week was how much my yoga is helping my swimming. It’s all about alignment again.  I am feeling the work I have been doing in poses like warrior and triangle as I stretch into a streamline position and as my stroke continues to feel better.

I have also practiced yoga, of course.   I had a wonderfully challenging hour with Kim last week, attended a relaxing class on Monday and have practiced on my own.

The final thing workouts I will mention are weights and my Sam workout.  I actually did what Sam wrote down for me in the weight workout. Shocking.  Weights have been hard for some reason. I like strength work and want to do it but have avoided it everytime I can for months.  I don’t know why.  It felt really good to be back.  There is no good way to describe a Sam workout.  You just have to experience it.  It’s hard and I sweat puddles all of the floor.  It’s always good even if I complain or make faces.

I registered for Rocketman Aquabike at the end of August and for the Hot Hundred.  These will be my main events that I will work toward besides swimming at Augusta.

Eating well is also back on track but I will write a separate post about that.

 

 

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in choices, exercise, Kim Drye, passion, progress, Sam, training, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five rides, four swims and then some: Update on the 30 for 30 challenge

  1. Love seeing that you’re doing 30 for 30… and reading about all of your YOGA!! How fun! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

