New seasons: Being present

As spring officially began, I was standing at the edge of the Pacific Ocean.  I realized that this was the third season that I have stood on the beach at Goat Rock.  My friend Douglas introduced me to Goat Rock last summer and I have returned each time I have been to Northern California since that first visit. It has become one of my favorite places.  Each season provides a different perspective and so does the place I stop or where I stand.  Much like life,  I notice something new each time I go to the beach.  Time of day, season, the angle I view the ocean or the rocks all change what  I notice and what I take away.

11070717_10155418940400533_1660709039_o

Spring March 20, 2015

March 18, 2015

March 18, 2015

December 2014

December 2014

November 2014

November 2014

July 2014

July 2014

What remains constant is the ocean.  The sound of the waves remind me of what I love and where I am most at home.  I have been working on being present, enjoying each moment and each day.  It’s a work in progress as I try to let go of being anxious, especially when I can’t control what will happen.   I have one more day on the California coast before I have to return to Alabama.  My goal for tomorrow will be soaking up the day, observing what is around me, and enoying the moments before I have to drive to the airport and get on a plane.

 

 

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in #writeandrun31, choices, passion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

