Beginnings: The journey to a 200 hr RYT

This weekend we begin.  Eighteen beautiful souls gathered with our teacher, Melissa Scott,  to begin the journey to our 200 hour RYT.  It’s about far more than becoming a registered yoga teacher though and the more will unfold as the months progress.

20150313_171410

This weekend is about grounding, beginning, laying a foundation for the work ahead.  We have started to mesh as a class and started to get to know one another through a series of exercises and sharing our stories.  The time together is sacred and we hold a scared space together as we learn and practice.  The lectures have focused on the history and philosophy of yoga.  I love the connections I am making with my own background and education, not just in yoga practice, but more broadly.  Everything fits together in ways that I could not have imagined I would see.

Melissa’s style of yoga (Core Strength Vinyasa)  is different than what I normally practice.  I have been challenged by the practice and see where I will practice in the coming month and months.  I will have to practice compassion and patience with myself through this practice as I become accustomed to it.

We have another full day tomorrow so I need some sleep.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in #writeandrun31, challenges, choices, passion, yoga and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beginnings: The journey to a 200 hr RYT

  1. imollie says:

    I love it when you claim that you will have to “practice compassion and patience” with yourself – it’s like the yoga of your yoga!! Meta yoga = being kind to yourself too! You are so awesome!

Leave a Reply

