Link round-up: Some sites I like to visit for nutrition and healthy living

20150108_123826I have been planning to do a short link round-up for a while so here it goes.  These are various links to sites that I find useful with nutrition and healthy living.   It is not all inclusive but selective.

becoming minimalist   I read Joshua Becker’s book Simplify and then discovered his blog and Facebook feed.  I was already familiar with minimalism and have tried to employ the concepts in my life for many years.  Becker’s writings offer many great tips, however, and philosophy to go alone with the thoughts and practices.

nourishing minimalism  this blog combines minimalism and cooking.  She offers tips on decluttering, what you really need in the kitchen and throws in recipes.

Field to Plate   Amanda Archibald offers a number of classes for professionals and people just interested in nutrition.  She couples nutrition with science and concentrates on food as medicine in courses and in her practice as an R.D.  I have been taking CEU’s for my CHES certification.  The courses are excellent and are packed with information that will take me time to absorb and be able to implement.  She offers short and very affordable seminars on special topics  as well.  And follow Field to Plate on Facebook because there are lots of links to recipes and other great information.

T. Colin Campbell Center for Nutrition Studies  This center is based at Cornell and led by Dr. T. Colin Campbell.  I took the Plant Based Nutrition Certificate through the Center.  Again, for CHES credits. It was expensive but worth it.  There are three classes in the certificate program, each 2 weeks and available so you can work at your own pace.  The facilitators and the discussions with fellow classmates were as worthwhile as the course itself.  I learned about the China Study as well as feel I received a grounding in Plant Based Nutrition.  There are many other free resources on the Centers’ website including articles and blogs that are proving very useful to me as well.

Some Recipe sites – there are so many

Food Republic

Nourished Kitchen  

Straight Up Food

Two Peas & their Pod

Forks over Knives

I think I will stop here for now.  I will do a separate link round-up on yoga related sites this week as well.

#writeandrun31 started again on the 1st so I will blog a bit more again this month since I have motivation!

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in #writeandrun31 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

