Beautiful things

20150124_102623 “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.” – William Morris

This is another post that is in response to a blog I read this week.  Iris Rankin blogs at hey there, chickpea.  Her post was in response to one of mine so we are just sharing the blog love here 🙂   I loved the quote she shared from Morris so I began looking around for beautiful things in my home.  Since clearing out a lot, the beautiful things are more apparent.  I have chosen things to display that I love and that have some meaning for me.  Here are a few of my favorites.

The pottery above is by Marysia Galbraith, displayed next to a piece of wood picked up from a beach in California. The bowl is filled with stones collected from various trips, many of them heart shaped.

My sister sent me a set of wonderful soap for my birthday.  You can find them at SoapworksStudio.com

20150124_131118

20150124_102419 One of my paperweights.

20150124_102227A beautiful mug I bought in Occidental, California last fall.

20150124_131127A wood bowl from a trip to the north Georgia mountains.

Small, beautiful things are scattered throughout the house.  I love seeing them and remembering where they came from or who they came from.  Thank you to Iris for the quote and the prompt.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in #writeandrun31, change, choices, home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

