#writeandrun31: The power of community

Three days into the new year I am meeting my challenge to workout every day (or get back to my 6 day per week workout schedule) and write every day.  It’s only three days but I am confident that I will achieve the goal this month.  Why?  Because I have a community to support me.  I am already seeing the support from this online community through comments on posts, cheering one another on, and reading their blogs and exercise achievements.  Thanks to Matt and Christine Frazier for creating the challenge.

Community is important.  This is not the first time that I have written that and it won’t be the last.  I am blessed to have many supportive groups in my life – the Tribe, Augusta Half Ironman group, She Does Tri team to name a few.  One of the most fortunate things about these groups is that they are spread all over the country. That can also be unfortunate since I don’t see people as often as I would like but it is fortunate because I know that there are people who I connect with where ever I go.

Setting Intentions

I started the New Year with a two hour yoga class at The Yoga Circle in Birmingham.  My teacher Kim Drye led the class and it was a really wonderful way to begin.   I was in my usual place in a class – in the back near a wall.  We had agreed that I would not be crazy and try to keep up with anything I couldn’t do in the first half of the class.  Throughout the fall as I have returned to yoga I have become much more comfortable with making a class my own though.  I come to the mat with what I can do on that day, in that hour.  Some days it is more than other days but I have far to go to do many poses.  It’s not a competition though so I will work at my pace and with my practice. I see potential though and that is important to me.  I also see the way my practice is changing me.

10893002_10155073667915533_656497762_oFor 2015, for now

I have been struck over and over by the importance of and the power of gratitude.  One of my goals is to consciously practice gratitude in the new year.  I have a number of other goals for the new year as well but I am not sharing them here for now.  Suffice to say that I am excited about possibilities for 2015 and beyond.

 

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in #writeandrun31, challenges, Christine Frazier, Matt Frazier, passion, Sam, She Does Tri, TriAugusta, yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

