Lessons on the mat: Returning to yoga

As you know, I have return10752679_10154872912445533_172990208_oed to the practice of yoga this fall. If you look at the yoga practice link at the top of the blog you can see some of the places where I have been practicing.  As I have traveled this fall I have looked for studios and have experienced several wonderful teachers.

I am still working to establish a regular practice again. I am getting there but I am also still swimming and working on strength work with Sam.  I have not been on my bike in weeks and I don’t think I have run a single step since Augusta. Racing and triathlon currently hold little interest for me. That may change and I may want to race again.  I am uncertain what will happen, however.

Yoga is teaching me patience with my body that is not quite as flexible as I would like it to be. Some days are better than others and I see small signs of progress.  But there is no timeline in yoga. Learning and becoming comfortable is poses takes as long as it takes. I am also practicing release and quieting my mind that is often overburdened with a list of things to do and interrupted too frequently by email and other demands of technology. I have been struggling to write about what I am learning by returning to my yoga practice.    I am finding challenges and peace in my practice. I am finding that I am willing to accept where I am more readily and not be competitive with those who are more advanced in their practice. I am sure that I will find a way to share more as my practice develops.

10804454_10154876155570533_640386470_o

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in yoga and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

