Transitions and inversions: Life is wonderful

I have recently re-discovered my yoga practice.  It is a wonderful joy and I am loving re-engaging with my practice and with the way my body feels and moves in yoga. While I was in Washington, D.C.  I took a class and was fortunate enough to discover a workshop on the shoulder joint that Chrissy Carter was leading on Saturday before I left.  I do wish I had found it earlier so I could have attended more sessions.

studio dc

On Thursday evening the teacher told us the theme of the class was transitions.  I almost laughed.  That seems to be my life right now – one large, long transition for the past few months.  I have gone from one end to the other, thinking I knew what was ahead in my life only to find that I was totally wrong.  That is what often makes life wonderful – not knowing what lies ahead.

It seems that I have also been practicing inversions quite a bit.  (Here are two  articles I found that lists benefits of inversions.)  Inversions turn us upside down. Everything looks different, therefore opening up new perspectives.  Practiced correctly and under the guidance of a knowledgeable teacher, they are truly beneficial.

The workshop on the shoulder joint was truly fascinating and enlightening.  In this kind of workshop you often have to get up and close and personal with someone you don’t know in order to really learn.  The benefit is that most people who come to a workshop like this know and expect that.  Tracing the shoulder joint, understanding more about how it works and moves has already been beneficial in my continued yoga practice as well as in the pool.  This adds a dimension to what I have already learned about my stroke, breath and alignment.

One of the wonderful surprises of returning to practice after the other training I have been doing is that some poses that I was never able to do seem easier.  I have moved into pigeon pose on more than one occasion without the difficulty that I recall having years ago.  This is a hip opener, an area of my body that is notoriously tight which has caused problems when I run.

There are many poses that continue to keep me humble though.  I will probably never  be able to do a handstand due to my vision issues.  There are other poses that I am working on as well. It’s all a learning process and a wonderful journey.  I am glad to be back on the mat.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, Sam, yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

