Returning to Augusta

Tomorrow I leave for Augusta, Georgia. This will be my second time to compete in the Augusta 70.3 Ironman and my 4th attempt to finish a half Ironman.  I never imagined that it would take 4 attempts to finish. I have declared that I would finish before.  This time I am claiming the finish.  I  think there is a subtle, but important, distinction.  I have done the training, even with the time that has not been as dedicated over the past few weeks due to my family circumstances.  I am confident in my ability to finish and have faith in my training and myself. I could not ask for or imagine a better support system.  This week I have carried three cards with sayings on them to remind me about what I know in my head, heart and body.  They are for me.  We each have our own mantras that get us through the races.  On Sunday at 7:48 am EST,  I will begin the journey again to the finish line at Augusta.

My friend Randy Cantu posted this video of the finish line earlier today.  He shared the video with me and I am posting as my claim that I will turn the corner from 7th onto Broad and cross the finish line. I’m hoping the video works since I had a difficult time embedding it.

 

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in Augusta 70.3, passion, races, triathlon, TriAugusta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Returning to Augusta

  1. Jenny says:

    I know you will. Do think “finish”, instead “one step at a time”, just say to yourself, one more mile, or one more step when you are struggling………

    Jenny

    >

Leave a Reply

