What’s next?

There are many things on my agenda for the next few months. I have learned not to plan too much because surprises appear that I would never have imagined.

I do have some upcoming plans, both tri related and non-tri related.

Augusta 70.3  – I thought about cancelling, but only briefly. I have such an amazing support group in the Augusta tri community. So, on September 28th I will give Augusta another try.  Before that I will attend Tri Camp the weekend of August 8-10 for a course preview and some coaching from the team at Tri Coach Georgia.  And I get to stay with Katie Brooks Hansen and go to Farmhaus with Jeff Spires.

August will begin at Camp Sumatanga for my Candidacy Retreat.  For those of you who do not know,  I began the candidacy process for ministry when I returned from Duke earlier this summer.  So far the process has mainly consisted of filling out a lot of forms and then waiting for the forms to be processed and approved. This weekend includes some further testing but also begins the mentoring process that will help me discern where I belong. I have felt a call into some kind of ministry for decades. I now see that many of the experiences I have had along the way will contribute to anything I wind up doing. If you could see me talking with my hands and body  it would be easier to explain what I am thinking about ways that faith, health and story are intertwined and what I have grappled with as I have been trying to figure out how to merge these into something that I can do.  (I know my storytelling friends totally understand what I mean about how I talk.) I am excited about the process and what it will bring.

Starting in mid-October I am leading a small group study on the book Making Peace with the Land: God’s Call to Reconcile with Creation by Fred Bahnson and Norman Wirzba. The book is a series of essays which challenge our notions about what the Bible says about the land and our relationship with it. In the first essay Wirzba challenges the Socratic notions about the body and soul while discussing passages that counter those notions.  He also discusses the ways in which society and individuals have lost their connection with the land and the importance of reconciling with all creation.  I think this will be a fascinating book to teach and will provoke lively discussions.

Finally, I am attending a Courage & Renewal Retreat in Chapel Hill at the beginning of November.  The retreat is in the clergy and people of faith track and will be another tool that I will be using to discern my place in ministry.  The content of the retreat is based on Parker Palmer’s work, who I worked with when I lived in Grand Rapids. His writing and practices have always resonated with me and I am looking forward to the insight I will gain through the Circle of Trust process.
That’s it for now.  I am sure there will be surprises that I don’t anticipate. I also know this –

oliver quoteI want to make a difference in people’s lives.

 

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, choices, starting, triathlon, TriAugusta. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

