Foggy goggles: nothing new on race day

It’s good that I have coaches who have pounded this message into my head: “nothing new on race day.”  On Monday I tried my race day goggles. There was nothing but fog.  There could be several reasons for that, but the bottom line is that they are not the goggles for Barb’s Race.  Sam told me that I really didn’t have to see when I swam but I do sort of like to see what I might run into or if I am going the wrong direction.  Fortunately, I have several choices.  Zoggs are my favorite brand of goggle, if you can’t tell.

goggles

Training has been up and down.  Swim and bike are great. Run, not so much.  My knee continues to bother me and  is not getting better.  I had a four mile run last night that was one of the most miserable runs I have had in a long time.  But I did it.  I have another run tomorrow.

My goal for Barb’s Race is to cross the finish line.  I hope to cross in the time allotted but if I miss the cut-off, I will cross the finish line. I have learned to be prepared for anything to happen on race day. I just need to be as prepared as I possibly can be and see what happens.  The next two weeks will include a lot of mental prep for the race, a key factor in triathlon.  Of course, the training is very important but if I don’t prepare mentally then all the training in the world won’t help.  This Saturday I will compete in Buster Britton for the fourth time.  I wanted a short race to help me focus and I like this race.  It will give me a chance to see what I need to think about for July 26th, even though this is a sprint.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in races, running, Sam, training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

