Sometimes there are challenges – keep on trying

Actually, there are often challenges. Last week I tripped and I fell while I was walking across campus.  This presented a challenge for running.  I must have hit my knee just right because it really hurt for a few days. Since I was at work, it became an OJI (on the job injury) and I had to have x-rays.  They wanted to know if I knew I had tri compartmental osteoarthritis and wondered if I had injured the knee before.  Yes, and, really, you don’t have time for my 40 years of knee injury stories (unless you have insomnia because I could probably put you to sleep talking about them).  I accept that I can be rather klutzy at times but on that day I was really looking forward to the run on my training plan.  It simply was not to be though and I went home and iced the knee instead. Yesterday I finally ran again.  At first my knee was a little cranky but as I ran a few laps it started to feel ok.  Tomorrow is my first longer run in a while so I will have to see how that goes.

The knee incident caused me to drop the Peachtree 10k again. That is not all bad either because I really do not like to abandon Pete around the 4th of July when fireworks are going off all over the neighborhood.  Pete is suddenly an old cat so I am not sure how he will react to all the noise this year.  I also switched a sprint triathlon to an aquabike.  Again, that is fine because I really just wanted a practice race for transitions. I will get that with the aquabike and I will have an open water swim and hilly bike race.

Barb’s Race is getting closer. I was going to try to switch to the aquabike for it but decided not to.  I’ve done the race math over and over and I am determined that I will finish the race. So, despite challenges, everything is good.  accomplishments

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in challenges, exercise, races, running, training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

