Fall seven times, stand up eight: Adventures in Mountain Biking

Fall seven times, stand up eight – Japanese proverb

This afternoon I was back at Sokol Trails on my new mountain bike. I only fell four times today, including running into a tree. Riding trails is much different than riding on the road.  There are more twists and turns and there are roots.  Like the road bike, the mountain bike goes where you look.  When I looked at a tree, trying to avoid it, I actually hit it. But I only hit the small tree and not the big tree.  And we were going down a hill and through an area that was a bit twisty.

bikeAll in all, it was a great afternoon on the trails.  I learned a lot and that is part of what going out and riding is about. It’s also about being out in nature, surrounded by trees and other living things.

I’m learning the differences between the road bike and the mountain bike. The brakes are far more sensitive on the mountain bike. (Geoff, I did listen to you on that point.)  Shifting is somewhat different and I am getting used to it.  I really did not have a problem with the clip in pedals. Most of the falls were because I ouchwas not in a hard enough gear and I fell before I could correct it. I have some scrapes and bruises but they will heal – and there will be more. Fortunately, Dr. Laubenthal gave me prescription for an antibacterial cream since I tend to fall and scrape myself up from time to time.

Gary is a very good teacher and I appreciate the time he is taking to ride with me and help me learn how to maneuver the trails and the bike. It was a little more stressful today but I made it.  The important thing is that I had fun and that I was outside on some beautiful trails with friends. I can’t wait to do it again.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in bikes, challenges, Dr. Laubenthal, mountain biking, passion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

