Another year

training journalsAs we close in on the end of another year, I have been reviewing my training journals.  In many ways this past year was not the year I wanted.  I still have not actually finished an entire half Ironman and the bike crash in June set me back for a while.

Still, I made progress over the year. I feel that my swimming has continued to improve. One of the biggest improvements came in the open water.  By getting out in the water week after week I was able to feel far more comfortable and confident in the open water.  The results came at Luray and Augusta where I had great swims. My bike skills have also improved, despite the crash.  I feel better on my tri bike and I am slowly improving at hills.  I have a lot of work to do before June, however.  Ironically my running still has a ways to go.  I am not back to my pre-Achilles tendon tear times yet, but I am closing in on those times.  I’ve tackled some longer runs in training than I had in the past and have worked on my endurance, physically and mentally.  I still have work there as well.

What doesn’t show up in my journals is more important. The friends I have met this past year and the friendships that have continued to grow because of the bond we find in triathlons is the most important thing.  I’ve shared some great times with friends this year in training and at events.  I’m looking forward to 2014.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in Achilles Tendon, challenges, mental toughness, training, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

