What are you going to do next?

This is the question I keep hearing: What are you going to do next?  The short answer is I am not sure, but I am not quitting my job. When I began the M.A. in Health Studies I did anticipate a career change.  Right now, I don’t.  I have learned, however, not to anticipate what I will be doing in the future.  (Alabama? Associate dean? Triathlons. Never on my list or radar.) I also recall the wise words of three storytellers when I finished the M.A. in Storytelling and said I wanted to be a children’s librarian and storyteller.  Paraphrased, they all told me, “don’t do anything stupid.”  There are really many ways that I can use my education without making stupid moves. how far

I have some ideas but I am not ready to discuss them yet.  Suffice to say that I am thinking about intersections between story, health education, and information.  I’m going to take some time to think about where that will lead and how.  I have a few research ideas that I am considering but that need to be developed.

I also have three half Ironman distance races on my schedule for 2014 so I will be doing some swimming, biking and running to prepare for those.

Thanks to all of you who have encouraged me on this journey so far.  I really am looking forward to what is next, whatever that may be.

 

 

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in challenges, change, choices, graduate school, passion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

