Soup

I have always loved soup and crackers.  My mom made very good chili when the weather was cold and we also had Campbell’s Chicken Noodle.  When I was a child those were pretty much the only two kinds of soup I would eat.  I’ve branched out a bit as an adult. Over the past year or so I have been making soups about once a week.  I love to try new recipes, though I now have a few standards as well.  One of my friends sent me a sweet potato soup that cooks in the crock pot over night. The only problem is that the smell will wake me up because it is so wonderful.  I also have a few lentil soups that have become standards. horn of the moonI have a few favorite cookbooks that I use.  madisonnight kitchen   Deborah Madison’s cookbooks are some of my favorites and her Vegetable Soups book has several recipes that I have tried and plan to try. I have had the other two books for several years and they may be out of print.  Horn of the Moon and Recipes from the Night Kitchen both have wonderful recipes though I find that I need to lighten them up a bit (substitute yogurt or something else for the heavy cream).

On Saturday I tried two new recipes – Triple Tomato and a Butternut, Apple, Almond soup.  Both are wonderful and pretty easy.  This one is from Recipes from the Night Kitchen;  butternut squash and almond soup

I’m still trying to figure out posting and connecting things to the page I created for recipe information.  Give me a few days.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in cooking, diet, nutrition, soup and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soup

  1. Gloria Mosley says:

    yummy Millie. Would you consider copying and sending me a few soup recipies? It is getting cold here already. I am not much of a cook but I would love some that you like a lot.

Leave a Reply

