Inspired

First, let me say that in addition to National Novel Writing Month, it is also apparently National Blog Posting Month.  I am up for the challenge.  My posts may not be long, but I will give this a shot.

IMFL swim start

What has inspired me?  On Saturday I sat and watched IMFL finishers far longer than I planned to.  I was following several friends throughout the day. I really have no idea how many people I know who did the race yesterday, but there were a lot.  Between the Vulcan Triathletes, TriAugusta club, and E3tribe, there were probably at least 40-50.  Ironman has added a predicted finish feature to the tracker on the website which seemed to be fairly accurate so I was able to watch the feed and see several people come across the finish line and hear the words “You are an Ironman!” I am in awe, especially as I watched the water conditions the past few days.  I know that the waves would have made me very nervous.  I was so happy to see Jason Stine and Jeff Spires, who I met in Augusta and who have been so encouraging to me, cross the finish line.  Brian Darr, a friend from Tuscaloosa, completed IMFL for the second time. He did a great job. I’m not even going to try to name everyone because I will miss someone.

One person who I do not know truly inspired me.  Her name is Laura and she blogs at http://www.fatgirlironmanjourney.com/  Someone in a group posted her link and I went to look at it.  I followed her throughout the day on the Facebook feeds her friends were posting and on the Ironman website.  She has an amazing story of determination. It looked like she might just miss the cutoff time (17 hours) but at 16:59, there she was, crossing the finish line, and an Ironman.  It was awesome to watch.

I also loved watching the Team Z jerseys come through.  I have met a number of Team Z members and they are such a great and generous group of athletes. And it was fun to watch Tracy post everyone’s finish photo on Facebook.

It is amazing to watch people accomplish finishing an Ironman and to see people realize a dream of doing so much more than they ever imagined.  Congratulations to all of you.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in e3tri, tracking, triathlon, TriAugusta and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspired

  1. Robin Fowler says:

    I found myself sucked in to the live stream of IMFL, too! We were tracking a few friends and were watching for them to cross the finish line, but I found myself kind of mesmerized by all of the athletes. Some were so elated to finish, it was entertaining to watch, and you could tell some were just so spent. All of them are so inspiring!

Leave a Reply

