Random memories while I am in New York

I have been in New York again for a few days attending an MLA committee meeting.  As I came in on the shuttle I recalled that three years ago I was here, sitting in my hotel room in the evening and looking for information on women and triathlons when I discovered Krista Schultz and David Glover.  I shot off an e-mail and thought I probably wouldn’t hear anything or that I would not be up the level of their camps. I hadn’t been working out long and at that point had only lost 70 pounds. Triathlon was a very new concept to consider.

This was my first note to Krista:

Hi,
I just wanted to tell you how excited I was to find the She Does Tri website last night. I am hoping to come to one of the camps in April.  I just started running and swimming again over the summer and am planning on buying a bike again soon. I feel a bit crazy to think about planning to do a triathlon next summer or fall since I have not started biking again.  (I live in the South so winter won’t stop me from biking.)  I have a really great trainer who has inspired me a lot but the idea of an all women’s weekend is great.

Anyway, your site is great. Glad I found it.

Millie

She replied right away, much to my surprise, and welcomed me to the triathlon family and specifically to She Does Tri.  I signed up for camp about a week later and have never looked back. I heard from Krista and David before I went to camp, took part in webinars they sponsored,  they featured me in the newsletter, and generally encouraged me. They continue to encourage me and support me and are good friends. The community of She Does Tri women is the best group I could have found. It is a wonderful and supportive group and I am still so glad to be a part of it.

sdt girls

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in camp, David Glover, Krista Schultz, Luray Triathlon, She Does Tri and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

