Day 3: Augusta – most of the day

It seems a little odd to go back and write about Saturday after everything is over, but I am going to do it anyway.

Saturday turned out to include a few more things to do than I thought it would. I started out with a short ride around the parking lot to make sure my bike was ok. I also had a very short run on the schedule.

Bikes have to be checked in the day before the event.  Someone posted a great place to park so you didn’t get stuck in the transition area traffic.  It was a few blocks away so I was able to ride from my car to the transition and then do the run back to the car.

I wanted to find a landmark to find my bike easily.  Fortunately there was a sign about littering at the end of the row.

After delivering my bike, I went to convention center and attended the athlete briefing. I heard some good tips. The best one was the number of yellow and orange buoys on the swim which helped tremendously on Sunday morning.

I stopped to buy ice for my ice bath after the race on Sunday.  My coach, Sam Morgan, swears by an ice bath after a long event.  Hurts like crazy but I think it helps me.  Then I went and took a nap.

Transition area

Transition area

Finding a landmark for my bike rack

Finding a landmark for my bike rack

Bike delivered

Bike delivered

With my bike

Athlete briefing

Athlete briefing

Ice aka the Sam Morgan cure all

Ice aka the Sam Morgan cure all

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in Augusta 70.3. Bookmark the permalink.