Race week: Raleigh 70.3

I have a feeling this week will pass quickly.  I have been preparing for Raleigh 70.3 since last fall – and now it is race week.  As you know, this is my first half Ironman event.  I can’t quite comprehend 8 hours of swimming, biking and running but I will soon.

jordan lake

Jordan Lake

A few weeks ago when I was looking at the calendar and everything I had to do I was wondering what made me select a half Ironman in June. Then I remembered.  It is three years, almost to the day, from when I began working with Sam Morgan.  This represents what I have accomplished, no matter what my time is, and how much I have done to improve my health and fitness.  Sam has been a constant support  as a coach, trainer and friend throughout this journey.  He believes I can do more than I often believe I can do – probably because I usually can.  He has helped me get over my fear of water, for the most part, and reminds me that I really can swim when I do become afraid.

Sam and Millie, June 21, 2011

Sam and Millie, June 21, 2011

Several other people have also helped me through this journey.  Krista Schultz and David Glover have provided amazing support since before I actually met them.  Krista has been helping me with nutrition planning for several months and we have devised a nutrition plan for Raleigh that I have practiced and am ready to execute. David’s webinars on race planning and strategies have been so helpful as I have thought about my season and races.

The guys at BikeLink are the best – Joe Wenning, Geoff, John, Chuck. They all take care of my bike and make sure it works and fits properly.  I can’t forget Barbara either 🙂 My new bike will be great to ride in Raleigh.

This isn’t everyone who has supported me through my training and journey but I’ll be writing more posts this week as I prepare to leave for Raleigh.

3rd place in Age Group

March 2013

June 2010

June 2010

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, David Glover, Krista Schultz, Sam, swimming, training, triathlon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

