Training time – spring break

This week was spring break, one of the very nice perks of my job.  I was hoping that the weather would be a little warmer by the end of March but it has been pretty chilly.  I have still been able to get out on my bike and run outside though.  Tomorrow is supposed to be warmer before the rain heads in again.

My training schedule called for a recovery week but we swapped weeks so I could use the time this week for some longer workouts.  It has been good to have time to work on my swim, bike, run as well as mental prep and nutrition planning.  Bronchitis has gotten the better of me this winter and it has made it difficult to train sometimes, especially in the pool.  I think that I have gotten over the panic that I was feeling for a few weeks.  I have also gotten out on the new tri bike and have actually made it up hills on it after my first false start in the wrong gear.  I’m getting used to the difference in position from the road bike.  I still have a ways to go to feel totally comfortable but I think I will get there pretty quickly.

Training nutrition has been the big thing this week.  I have had problems in longer races, especially the half marathons and at least once on a longer ride, because I was not taking in enough calories and not taking in the right calories.  I’ve been working with Krista Schultz on some general nutrition planning but this week we honed in on training and racing nutrition.  I think it has finally clicked.  I have to eat and have to drink more than water when I am going long distances.  I already notice the difference and feel better during training and after.  It is kind of like packing a picnic as I get ready to go train.  I have to have the right snacks before, during and after.  I think my favorite post training snack is greek yogurt with almond butter.  It is very good.

NutritionI’m trying different things to see what works best for me and what the best combinations are for me. I am sure I will do some experimenting before I settle on what is right for now.  I also imagine that it might change over time.

Since I was off this week I also spent a morning cooking.  I love having time in the kitchen and made all kinds of good things to eat over the next several days.

April 7th is the Rebel Man Triathlon.  This was my first triathlon.  I’m looking forward to returning but in my plan, it is just another training day.   I am looking forward to seeing my birthday twin and friend, Carol Livingston.  It should be a great weekend.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in bikes, choices, cooking, Krista Schultz, nutrition, progress, recovery, running, Sam, She Does Tri, swimming, training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

