Georgia Publix Half Marathon weekend

The Georgia Publix Half Marathon is my last deferred race from last year.  When I registered for the Tuscaloosa Half Marathon I did not think I would do it because it was two weeks after Tuscaloosa.  When I wasn’t able to run on March 2 due to illness I decided I would go ahead and plan on running the Publix Half Marathon, hoping that I was feeling well enough.  I decided to use the weekend to relax and just get away for a few days.  You will see that my idea of relaxation has changed quite a bit over the past few years.

welcome signThe only hotel left in the area was the Omni  which was the closest to the start line.  I decided to just go ahead and make reservations and stay downtown. It was a good decision.  It has been pretty hectic so having some down time was a very good thing this weekend.

I arrived on Friday in the midst of basketball traffic. I did manage to make it to the Expo to pick up my race packet before they closed, however. Maybe if I keep running in Atlanta I will learn how to get around downtown.  shirt bibb

I’m training through the races I am scheduled for this spring, leading to the half Ironman.  Saturday is my long bike day so I brought my bike along.  I had been wanting to ride the Silver Comet Trail so I headed out late Saturday morning.  The trail was fairly congested for a few miles due to the beautiful weather but I finally reached a point where there were not as many people and was able to get a good ride in.  Despite the beautiful weather, it was windy.  Going out was particularly windy.  Coming back wasn’t as bad.

I also tried to drive the race route but I kept getting lost. I decided that was fine because I knew there would just be a lot of hills.

The weather report for Sunday morning was in the 50’s for most of the time I would be running.  The humidity was fairly high though.  The race began at 7 am so it was still dark but didn’t stay that way long.  I started out running well and kept a pretty good pace through 9 miles.  I started having a few issues with my stomach during mile 10 and all I could do about it was keep going. I still finished with my best half marathon time so far but not quite what I had hoped for.  There were lots of hills but they did not bother me as much as they used to – not even as much as when I ran in Atlanta in January.

Over all I am happy with the race and the weekend.  I think about where I was a year ago – just released to begin running again – and am thankful that I am able to run and ride.  I’m still working on time but I know that will come with continued practice.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in choices, Eric Doehrman, Krista Schultz, races, running, She Does Tri and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

