Setting goals: Preparation

fortuneYesterday I ate lunch at a Japanese restaurant and received a fortune cookie. The photo is very clear – I couldn’t get it to focus for some reason, but my fortune read, “Use your abilities at this time to stay focused on your goal. You will succeed.”   I have been reading a number of articles about setting race goals and what to avoid when thinking about goals.  This seemed to go right along with my reading and thinking.

I had an important factor reinforced over the weekend:  what you think will influence your performance.  On Friday evening I needed to run. I really did not feel like it but knew I needed to log a 45 minute run anyway.  I was thinking that I was just going to be slow and sure enough, I was.  On the way home I realized what I had done to myself and decided to reverse my thinking for a Saturday morning 5k.  I had a goal in mind for the 5k and missed it by only 30 seconds.   I was over 6 minutes faster than the previous evening, however.  My times are still slow by many standards but I continue making progress.

I have set goals for my swim with Sam’s help, and for my bike and run for the half Ironman.  Knowing my goals, writing them down and being specific, and having a plan for race day and leading up to race day are all factors in the overall goals and plan.  Right now Raleigh is an A race.  The events leading up to Raleigh are important parts of training and preparation.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in 5k, progress, races, running, training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Setting goals: Preparation

  1. levitra says:

    Very nice blog! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

