Krispy Kreme Challenge

It was a weekend of contrasts in Tuscaloosa.  The Krispy Kreme Challenge was happening in one part of town and the American Heart Association Walk was happening on the Krispy Kreme Registration other side of town.  I heard quite a bit of discussion about the two events happening on the same day.  The Krispy Kreme Challenge was a fund raiser for the Y and for Big Brothers Big Sisters of West Alabama. I wound up doing it after I discovered that I did not have to eat the dozen doughnuts. It was cold and windy on Saturday morning, adding another challenge. My first mile was the fastest I have run in a year.  I ate one doughnut.  The second mile time was pretty close of the first mile.  I got to run with my friend Susanne for the first time is a long time. I like running with her because we keep one another going. Start line

My running has been feeling much better lately.  Part of it is better shoes but I think part of it is also due to paying more attention to my form and to running more.  Today I spent 65 minutes on the treadmill. The treadmill is not my favorite but I am getting used to it and better at running faster on the treadmill.  I think it has been helping me to speed up the treadmill so I can begin to get the feel of a faster pace. I have a long way to go but I’ll get there.

Millie and Susanne

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in choices, races and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

