Race one of 2013: Elevation and priorities

Hot Chocolate 15k Elevation map

Hot Chocolate 15k Elevation map

My first race of the year is this Sunday in Atlanta.  It’s the Hot Chocolate 15k (9.3 miles) and they finally posted the elevation map.  It looks hilly, as I expected, so it will be challenging.  The race begins at Turner Field and winds through downtown so it is probably a similar route to the Thanksgiving 5k/half marathon. I’ll report back after the race on Sunday.  I can’t remember how many thousand people are entered, but it is a pretty big race.

Priorities

This is not one of my “A” races, or a high priority race. Part of the reason I am doing it is because it is a chance to go to Atlanta and spend time with my cousins.  One of them is racing on Sunday as well. It’s also a little longer distance than I usually run in a race.  There are not a lot of 15k races around so it gives me a  chance to push myself farther than a 5k but not as far as a half marathon yet.

My major priority this year is the half Ironman.  That is really where my training focus is for the next several months.  I have other events along the way but they are all part of preparing for June.  I am working very hard not to over book my race schedule this year.  That can be a challenge because there are so many races and events and friends are doing different things that look and sound like fun.  But I need to remain focused on what I have set as my goal and work with Sam, my trainer, to achieve that goal.  So I will let a few races wait until 2014 or 2015 or later. It’s good to have things to look forward to.

I am really looking forward to racing with friends from She Does Tri and wearing the fantastic new jersey. I am also looking forward to doing some events for the second time and several for the first time.  I think it will be a good year.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in exercise, races, running, Sam, She Does Tri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

