Racing to stop diabetes: a 70.30 goal

Over the last few months I have mentioned that I plan on doing a half Ironman in 2013.  I am actually registered for two:  Raleigh on June 2 and Augusta on September 29.  I have also decided to devote my 2013 race season to raising money and awareness about diabetes.

2012-10-15 13.52.47

The word epidemic was used over and over again at the CVLC in New Orleans. A recently released CDC report indicates that is no stretch of the truth.  In Alabama the number of people with diabetes has increased 140% since 1995.  There are an estimated 26 million people living with Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes in the United States.  An increasing number of younger people, including children, are being diagnosed with diabetes.  It is a serious health concern for many reasons.  Diabetes is often related to other diseases: heart, stroke, amputations, vision issues, etc.  My personal interest  in diabetes began with my family but I continually meet people who live with this disease every day.

Be the change

My life has changed tremendously since 2010.  I’ve decided to now be the change.  I have created a fundraising page through the Ironman Foundation in the Your Journey, Your Cause campaign. http://bit.ly/VtBV4W

My goal is $100 per mile for a total of $7,030 that will go to the American Diabetes Association. I am looking for people who are willing to sponsor a mile (or more).  Contact me if you are willing to donate at this level or if you know someone I might contact.  The smaller donations will add up, however.  Everyone cannot donate $100.  If everyone who is connected to me on Facebook donated $10, for example,  I would quickly reach $5,000.  You can also share my link with other people and share the video that I will post below.

Tour de Cure

I am also chairing the Tour de Cure for Alabama and have a donation page here if you would rather donate directly to ADA.  We need riders for Tour as well.  There are several options ranging from 25 miles to 105 miles.  The event is May 18, 2013 at St. Vincent’s 119 in Birmingham, Alabama.

Sharing my story

If you have been reading my blog, you know my story. This video shares a brief version on the change I have undergone, why I am passionate about seeing a cure for diabetes, and how to help.

http://vimeo.com/55053495

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in American Diabetes Association, bikes, challenges, change, Dr. Laubenthal, Krista Schultz, progress, races, Sam, She Does Tri, Tour de Cure, triathlon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

