Training and recovery

I have reached the end of my first three months in preparation for the Half Ironman.  Over the past few months I have increased my endurance and built my base.  I see where I still need to work over the next several months. I’ve missed some key days due to travel.  Fall is always a busy travel time for me and now things slow down until summer.  I should do much better in the coming months.

Kaiser Half Marathon, Nov. 24, 2012

This morning I completed another half marathon and, as usual, learned several things.  My right leg has been bothering me again but, even so, I started strong.  I had a really good 7 miles.  My times were pretty consistent and I was feeling pretty good.  At mile 8 I simply lost it though.  I started a walk/run, still thinking that I could meet the goal I had set for myself but it didn’t happen. I am not sure if I could have just kept going if I had not walked at mile 8.  I could never really get going again at the same pace though  One good thing was that my toes did not hurt until mile 7.  That’s 2 more miles than usual.   I did finish, however.

One of the things I learned, or realized, was that I was not well hydrated.  I began to really feel this around mile 9.  I’ve had some problems on and off with this but more often when I cycle than when I run.  After the race I was thinking about it and realized that when I am off for a couple of days that I don’t tend to drink as much water as I do when I am working.  I do fine on the weekends but give me a break and I drink coffee. It is something I need to pay attention to more.

Kaiser Half Marathon

The next few days are recovery.  I have time to rest and regroup before we begin the next round.   I will try to write some more about training over the past few months.  Right now I am going to watch football and enjoy the rest of the day at the beach.

 

 

 

 

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in challenges, races, recovery, running, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Training and recovery

  1. nreisig says:

    Have also learned the hydrating lesson the hard way, by winding up in the ER. It’s hard to get the amount of water you need, but important. Good job today!

Leave a Reply

