I can do anything…

For a  year after I graduated from Central Michigan I was a substitute teacher.  I taught in several districts, k-12, any subject on any given day.  Some days I basically babysat while other days I was able to teach something.  My worst day was the morning I was called fairly late, showed up at the school to be told that the teacher of the special ed class had suddenly died during the night.  The best days were for my former German teacher who had not informed her classes that I had been her student, still knew enough German to know what they were saying and also knew several of their siblings.  I had fun with them.  My point in relating this story is that I had a mantra throughout that year: I can do anything for eight hours. For some reason I thought about that this week.  My training has been disrupted some over the past month for various reasons so I am not quite on schedule.  On Sunday I was scheduled to run 11 miles but only made it for 8 miles.  On Tuesday I was scheduled for a 5 mile run.  I not only completed the run, I did it with fairly consistent mile times for the first time.  I kept my pace throughout the entire run.  There was a point when I thought I could walk a few laps.  Then the mantra came to mind.  I realized that I would just continue and, in this case, I could do anything for an hour.  Tonight I swam 1800 straight for the first time in a while. I just kept going until I finished.  I still have to get on the bike for 55 minutes so I will wrap this up.

I won’t wait so long before I write my next post.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in challenges, choices, running, swimming, training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

