Sometimes you just keep going

The past few weeks have not been easy.  It began with a reaction to the flu shot, followed by a  fall, seasonal allergies, and a lot of travel.  I love to travel but I do get out of my routine.  I’ve missed several workouts and I have felt it the past week.  With Sam’s encouragement (of course),  I have just kept going.  When I ask Sam if I should do something different because of my schedule, he tells me to stick to the plan.  That is what I am doing.  My times have suffered some because of missing workouts but I know that I will regain the time by being consistent and continuing to train.

One positive thing that I have noticed is that I feel stronger and like I can go longer.  I am slower right now, but I am going farther than I had been going in the pool, running and on the bike. I know that it will come together over time.

An example of consistency

My cousin Nancy is one of my examples of what can be accomplished with consistent training. She is a cancer survivor and has taken up running since her recovery. I think she ran before but she is dedicated now.  She prefers 10k’s and half marathons.  This is one of many things that I admire about her.  I love this photo of her because it looks like she is experiencing sheer joy.  Yes, sometimes you do just have to keep going and it pays off.

Nancy

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in bikes, cancer, challenges, running, Sam, swimming, training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes you just keep going

  1. Nancy Reisig says:

    Thank you for the nice words! This was the beginning of the Applefest before I ran out of steam!

Leave a Reply

