Grains and other good things

Over the past several weeks I have discovered a  number of new things that I like to eat.  Part of this is thanks to Krista Schultz, who I have been working with on making some adjustments to my diet. She immediately spotted some things I could change that have really helped me break the plateau I had hit.  So what have I discovered?  If you follow me on Facebook you already know a few things: farro, Brussels sprouts, figs, and a number of soups.

A few of the recipes that I have tried have been sitting around for a while, but some are new ones that I have found in the cookbooks I bought last winter. I do enjoy trying new things and having time to play around in the kitchen. It takes some time but the planning I have been doing and adding the new things have been well worth it.

Farro.  I found Farro at Whole Foods a few weeks ago.  This was where I also discovered the cranberry beans last winter. Farro is somewhat like oatmeal, which I love, but it has a little thicker consistency.  I can make a batch and heat it up quickly, add some fruit, and have breakfast.  It also goes well with vegetables and tonight I had it with chicken, tomato, and feta. A little bit (note: a serving is 1/4 c.) really is filling.

Farro with vegetables

Breakfast

Brussels sprouts.  I would not eat Brussels sprouts when I was growing up though I don’t really recall seeing them often.  They were nothing that ever appealed to me. I have discovered that they are wonderful and addictive.  I have broiled them, sauteed them, and am looking for other ways to prepare them. They are a great little snack or side dish. It was fascinating to me to see the number of comments I received when I posted a photo.  It seems that this is a vegetable that people are quite opinionated about, pro or con.

Soups and salads

I have also been experimenting with new soups and with adding different ingredients to salads. I love soup and I don’t mind eating things more than one day, which is good since most of these recipes make a lot. For salads I have added fruit and especially like figs (thanks Chara Watson for being so enthusiastic about figs).  The sweet potato soup is a recipe that my friend Rosemary Johnsen sent me last winter but I had never gotten around to try.  It’s great – and easy.

Quinoa, spinach and corn chowder.

Salad with figs

Sweet potato soup

Preparation is one of my keys to being successful. I have been making soups on the weekends, figured out my schedule for the week and planned menus, and have made my lunches the night before for a few weeks now. It has, once again, paid off. I’m  eating better, feeling better, and as I mentioned to begin with, I have broken a plateau that I had been on for quite a while. I am hoping that very soon I will reach a goal that has eluded me for some time.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in cooking, diet, Krista Schultz, progress, tracking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grains and other good things

  1. danadebard says:

    Thanks for all these great ideas Millie!! I am not good in the kitchen and end up making the same things over and over! I don’t seem to have time to look for recipes and since there are so many things I can’t eat I really get discouraged even trying. You’ve renewed my interest!! My stomach thanks you!

Leave a Reply

