2 Races and a Wedding: A week in Luray, VA (post 1)

Last week I traveled to Luray, Virginia to participate in the Luray International and Sprint triathlon and to attend a wedding. I have several posts about the week and thought I would have them done by now.  So, over the next few day, they really  will appear.

After 13 hours in the car, I finally arrived in Luray and at Darryl Haley’s Bed and Breakfast.  Darryl greeted me and I settled into a wonderful room.

I had two days to hang out, drive the bike route, swim, and relax before the race. On Thursday I spent time swimming at Lake Arrowhead and driving the bike course.  I also shopped in downtown Luray.

Lake Arrowhead

In addition to all of his other talents, Darryl is a fantastic cook. On Friday I hung out with him while he baked and cooked. I got to hear his radio show on WHUR on Friday morning as well.  It was a fun and relaxing day. Other people began arriving later in the afternoon.

Darryl

The Luray Triathlon was founded by David Glover.  David is a triathlete and coach who continues to organize the events.  There are two races during the weekend – an International distance on Saturday and Sprint on Sunday.  I participated in the International, my first one of that distance, as an individual, and in the Sprint as part of a relay team. I will write separate posts on the races.

This weekend was a chance to reunite with other She Does Tri campers, the triathlon camp run by Krista Schultz and David Glover. Several of us were staying at Darryl’s B&B so we had a lot of time to catch up.  There were also several new people at the B&B who quickly became friends.

Group photo (missing Ann)

Dave Scott  six time Ironman champion and coach, offered advice, participated in the races, and spent time talking to triathletes as part of the weekend. Dave provided several pre-race videos on the Luray Triathlon website providing advice on racing for both beginners and seasoned athletes.

Meeting Dave Scott

The weekend wrapped up with Krista and David’s wedding. It was a beautiful wedding and a lot of fun.

She Does Tri campers support their coaches.

I’ll write more about each race and about some of the people who supported me during the weekend.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in cooking, David Glover, races, She Does Tri, triathlon, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

