Summertime! Bits and pieces

Summer has arrived.  Not quite officially, but it’s here.  Over Memorial Day weekend it was close to 100 degrees in my part of Alabama.  Summer classes began today and Bama Bound groups started showing up last week.  It is summer. Here are a few bits and pieces about what I have been doing until I have time for a longer post.

Summer also means more races and triathlons for me. My first triathlon is next weekend.  I will participate in the Buster Britton Memorial Triathlon for the second time. I’m hoping for a better time this year but my run is still slow from surgery. It will be good to be able to complete a full triathlon though.

Since I last posted my friend Vickie and I also made a deal for the Luray Triathlon.  I’ll swim and run and she will bike.  That’s the plan right now. I am looking forward to seeing her in a few days when she brings her son to Bama Bound.

Last week I worked with a bike coach for the first time.  I met John Hanna at the LJCC triathlon in April and inquired about working with him on bike skills since Sam and I don’t really spend time with the bike. The session was very helpful.  I finally understand shifting on my road bike and realize what I was not doing. I think it will help improve my race and my riding in general, especially on hills.

Sam and I have been working on swim technique and on cardio. One of the most difficult things he has had me do recently was put the rope in the photo below around the punching

Ropes

bag and pull it down a hall and then push it back down the hall…8 times… and I did it.

Punching bag

Over Memorial Day weekend I participated in Distance for Disaster, a fundraiser for the American Red Cross that the Tuscaloosa Track Club sponsored.  It was the first time I had run at the Arboretum.  Saturday morning was fairly humid, even at 7:30 am, but it was a really nice place to run.

That’s it for tonight.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in 5k, bikes, challenges, races, running, Sam. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

