Far too long

I realized that I had not posted anything in several weeks. It’s been busy, crazy, and stressful.

I’ve been on the road quite a bit in the past month.  Pete spends a lot of time in my suitcase, hoping to go too during times like this. Pete someday hopes to travel to far away places He does seem to have some kind of secret life when I am gone though.  I find things rearranged and in odd places when I return from trips.

I started off with PETS training (President Elect training seminar) for Rotary in mid- March.  The event was three days of non-stop meetings and I learned quite a bit about what I will need to do in the coming year.

Easter weekend I went to Chicago.  I had a plane ticket that was going to expire and figured that I should use it.  I wish I had known one friend was spending the weekend there and another was passing through. I shopped, slept, went to a Cubs game and walked all over the city. It is such fun to shop now. I don’t have to buy something just because it fits and I can shop at more places.

At the Cubs game I sat next to a man who has had season tickets for 27 years and had been coming to games much longer. That is loyalty.  We talked about baseball and I told him my dad had been a loyal Tigers fan most of his life.  He told me he remembered when the Tigers and the Cubs were in the World Series (1945). It was a beautiful day to be in a ball park.  The Cubs lost, of course, but it didn’t matter much to me.

View of Wrigley Field I had a great view until a guy with the biggest head I’ve seen in a while came and sat in front on me. That killed my view of the field.

It’s April so that means meetings, evaluations, getting ready for the end of the semester, etc. There have been lots of meetings and I have many more to go before the end of the month.

I finished my third class in the Health Studies program and it is likely to be the last one I take. I’ve learned some interesting and useful things but I am not sure this is the program that I really want. Part of it is that taking classes online is very different than in person. The first two classes had a schedule so there was a pace that I had to keep up. The last class left me to create my own schedule as long as I finished by a certain date.  I used the template from the first two classes to create a schedule and actually finished several weeks earlier than scheduled. There is little interaction with this kind of learning and I found that I was not enjoying it as much as I had anticipated. There are still some things I want to learn but I will need to figure out how I will do that.

I have continued to train and have my first race since August next weekend. It is short and will only be a swim and bike since I have only really started running again this week. I managed to run a quarter mile one day this week and then alternated walking and running by quarter miles for  2 miles another day. I’m slow and have a long ways to go to get back to where I was in August but it will happen. Swimming has been my main activity since my injuries.  On Friday I swam 2700 yards during training.  I think that is the longest distance I have managed in an hour since I started to swim. I finally made 500s under 10 minutes.

I’m starting to lose weight again as well.  That helps with everything.  I have to track and plan.  That is the only way that I can maintain or lose. This is one of the main things I need to concentrate on during busy times.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in cats, challenges, races, recovery, running, Sam, swimming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Far too long

  1. Lori Moss says:

    So glad that you’re running and race schedule has resumed…sounds like you are doing well. My biggest fear is getting injured and having to stop working out and running. I fear that I I wouldn’t begin again and the weight would come right back on. I guess that proves that mentally I have a way to go to make this mindset of health and fittness permenant. Keep up the good work Millie, love reading your posts!

Leave a Reply

