Back on my bike

I realized that it has been two weeks since I posted.  I have been quite busy with deadlines and other things.

Yesterday I rode my hybrid for the first time since August.  It was just a short ride around the neighborhood to see how it felt. It was great – other than the fact that it was pretty cold yesterday.  Last week I had my clip in pedals swapped for regular pedals until I get used to riding again. It is different to ride with the regular pedals but I think it is a good decision for now since my natural tendency is to clip out with my left foot first when I come to a stop.  While my Achilles is healed, it still needs to be strengthened more before I will be comfortable with the clips again. I am hoping that it is warmer this coming weekend so I can take my road bike out.

Bikes on my car

I have registered for an Aquathon in April.  It’s a short race and will be the first one since August (other than a one mile walk that I plan on doing in a couple of weeks).  Since it is so short I don’t foresee any problems – 150 pool swim and a 6 mile bike.  The run is 2 miles, so not very long either, but I am still uncertain when I will actually begin to run again.  Last week I began walking farther.  On Thursday I walked a mile and a  half, with a pace that was 3-4 minutes faster than what I was running a mile in the fall of 2010.  My physical therapist wants me to work up to 3 miles and then begin working on an incline on the treadmill.  Sam thinks I will be at 3 miles in about 3-4 weeks.  We aren’t talking about running yet.

I have a number of other things to write about and I will catch up soon.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

