Cooking in the new year

One thing I want to do this year is cook and plan meals.  I am off to a good start on January 2nd. Today I made lentil soup from Deborah Madison’s Vegetable Soups and Lemon Basil Chicken from Fit Food: Eating Well for Life by Ellen Haas. Over the weekend I made a vegetarian chili that turned out pretty well. All of these were easy recipes, which I like.

I also cut up vegetables and fruit for the rest of the week and packed up bags of vegetables for my lunches. The last thing I did was pack my lunch for tomorrow.  This has been one of my routines since I began my weight loss journey a year and a half ago.  I have rarely missed a day of taking my lunch and a few snacks for the day consisting of fruit, yogurt and vegetables.

I discovered the Friedman Sprout today, the student newsletter from Tufts University’s Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy.  One of the articles outlines 6 simple steps to getting your diet back on track.  I like number three: Prior Planning Prevents Poor Performance.(They are all good points but that one seems to be pertinent to this post.)

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in challenges, choices and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

