Physical therapy: Day one

This morning I started physical therapy.  Right now I am trying to move my foot and restore the range of motion.  It will take some work but my physical therapist thinks it will come along quickly.  I had planned on going back to the Rec later in the day but by the time I ran errands, cleaned up the dead skin and scabs on my leg, and iced it again, I was too tired.  My ankle also hurt a bit so I didn’t want to push it the first day.

I am getting used to the crutches.  Yesterday was difficult – rather klutzy – but today it was easier.  I can get around the house pretty easily and I managed to go to Starbucks, Academy Sports, and the grocery store. I’ve spent the rest of the day resting and napping with Pete.  I only have a few more days of vacation so I need to enjoy it.

 

I am happy with the way my scar is healing.  It looks much better than the first time I saw it. I could not imagine that it would ever look normal again but it is getting close.  I don’t know if I will have a scar or if it will fade away.  I’ll just have to wait and see.

This is my routine for the next few days:

try to bend my foot, trace the alphabet with my toes (try it, it is harder than you might think), practice rotating my ankle on the wobble board, ice, 2-3 times a day. I am supposed to be at 25% weight on my foot but I am not sure how I tell that.  I guess it is mainly by feel.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in Achilles Tendon, change, exercise, injury, progress, recovery, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

