PWB moving on

Today I moved from a cast to a boot.  I am now PWB, or partial weight bearing.  It is a little hard to get used to but I think I get the hang of walking with the crutches and keeping most of the weight on the crutches instead of on the boot. I can take my boot off to sleep which is quite nice.  My foot is still stiff but that is not unusual.

Over the next two or three weeks I will move to FWB, or full weight bearing. At that point I won’t need the crutches anymore.  I have a ways to go to get there.  Tomorrow I begin physical therapy and will go for the next four weeks.

I returned the knee walker this morning. No, I will not miss it.

I was cleared to swim and to ride the stationary bike.  I started with the bike today. Since I have PT tomorrow I will probably wait until next week to go in the pool.  It will take a little bit of logistical planning to get into the pool since I am still on crutches.

I am very happy to be at this stage.  The doctor said a month in the boot so we will see if that is all.  Originally I thought I would be in the boot three months.  He did agree that I won’t be doing a half marathon in March, which I knew.  One will give me a deferral but the other one told me I could walk.  We both agreed that was not realistic too.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

