What makes the difference? Choices.

I was looking at old photos over the weekend.  I also recently wrote out my weight loss history for paperwork I had to complete for the National Weight Control Registry. I have been thinking about what has made the difference this time in my weight loss efforts and success.

This is one of the photos I came across this weekend. It was taken at my graduation from The University of Michigan in 1996.

Graduation from U of M

This photo is from this summer.

Seattle, July 2011

I weigh just about the same in both photos but I can see a difference in my appearance. Of course I am older in the last photo.  My hair is much better in the earlier photo. But what I really notice is the difference in my face as well as the rest of my body. (That is a bit easier to tell from other photos I came across from the time period.)  I am in much better shape now and I attribute that to a better diet and to exercise.  In that round of graduate school I drank coffee constantly, lived on Cottage Inn pizza, pasta, and other not so great food choices. I thought I didn’t have time to eat right. I spent hours in class, working two jobs, and in the lab. I didn’t exercise much besides walking to class or across campus occasionally.  Now my diet consists of fruits and vegetables, protein, limited pasta and breads, and I am working on cutting back on my coffee/caffeine consumption. I also work out 5-6 times a week, even with one foot in a cast. My health is much better than it was in 1996. I no longer take medications besides vitamins. I don’t have sleep apnea. My stomach isn’t a constant mess. I loved living in Ann Arbor and being at Michigan but life is just generally better now that I have changed my habits and have become healthier. As I told my cousin earlier today, I think we are aging well. By making the right choices,  I’ve changed my life.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, choices, diet, exercise, sleep apnea and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What makes the difference? Choices.

  1. Carol V. Livingston says:

    I love you, Millie! I am so proud of you!!!

  2. Lori Moss says:

    You are so beautiful…inside and out! Keep up the good work and fast healing!!

  3. Cheryl Altemara says:

    Wow, very lovely, Millie. I’m sending this to the person I love most in the world, thanks for being a storyteller 🙂

Leave a Reply

