Week three: still hopping

I’m still on one foot but it is week three.  Time does fly.  I had several people tell me that time would drag and that I would be bored. That has not been true for the most part. I have been a little restless and I was slightly depressed for a couple of days before I was able to return to working out.  Overall the days are flying by.  I have a long list of books to read and projects to finish and I most likely won’t finish all of them by the time I have to go back to work.  I am still sleeping quite a bit and I do have to keep my foot up.  I feel fortunate that I have not had a lot of pain. Every so often it feels like someone is stabbing the bottom of my foot with needles. My scars are on the side so I am not quite sure why I feel it on the bottom of my foot. I also feel the spot where he must have drilled a hole in my heel.

Planes, trains and automobiles…er, crutches, walkers and knee walkers

I am still getting around with the knee walker.  I use the walker and the knee walker together to get to the car and sometimes around the house. The crutches sit in the corner, ala Tiny Tim, untouched. So happy that is what the insurance paid for. I have used them a few times and, if I attempt the choir loft I will probably use them on Sunday. I am still not quite sure about that yet.

Back to the Rec with Sam

Waiting for Sam at the Rec

When I went to the doctor last Thursday he said I could exercise again. I was back the next day.  I have been working with Sam because I wasn’t quite sure I felt confident enough to navigate on my own. Sam has figured out what I can do – which is more than you might imagine on one leg.  I am feeling more confident about going back on my own. Tomorrow will be my first attempt.  It is probably a good time to try on my own because it won’t be busy due to the Thanksgiving holiday and the Ironbowl. My main exercise will be the armbike and then I will figure out what else I can/need to do.

Cast two

Next Thursday I am scheduled to get cast number two.  I’m not sure how many more after that. I guess it will depend on how everything looks when cast number one comes off.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in Achilles Tendon, Dr. McGough, exercise, injury, progress, recovery, Sam. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

