Week one: Road to recovery

It has been a week since surgery.  Last week was not a lot of fun.  I slept, didn’t feel great, was pretty sick most of Friday, and just felt lousy. I quit taking the pain medication and started feeling better after that.  I have not had a lot of pain over all.  Every once in a while I have a shooting pain in my heel or around where I think the incision must be, but other than that I haven’t had much and I feel fortunate.

Many people have been in and out and I feel fortunate about that as well.  Friends have come and stayed with me, brought me food, cleaned up my kitchen and have been supportive.

I have received lovely flowers and wonderful food:

Yesterday I began feeling like working again.  I read some material for my health studies classes and watched some of the lectures.

I am also reading books.  I know all of you think that is what librarians do but I rarely have time to just read something I want to read. I started Pat Conroy’s South of Broad, which has been sitting in a pile of books to read since it was published, and I am re-reading Jhumpa Lahiri’s Interpreter of Maladies for my book club. I also received my wonderful friend and storyteller Jay O’Callahan’s new novel, Harry’s Our Man, in the mail today and began it. Three fiction books at a time. It’s been a long time since I have been able to do that.

I am cleaning out e-mail. I have thousands of messages backed up in my in box.  I am hoping to be down to a few when I go back to work.

And, finally, I am finishing the edits on the last two chapters for the Postmodern book. It will be done by next week. I think my co-author is happy that I have to sit in one place and cannot move.  A captive audience – it will get done.

Achilles blog

When I was looking for information on Achilles tendon injuries before surgery, I came across this blog Achilles Blog. It has been very helpful.  I found a cast cover today that is supposed to be water proof. The reviews were good so I went ahead and ordered it.

The Achilles blog offers stories, pictures that might make weak stomachs cringe, and a marathon map to keep track of progress. Many of the people on this site have ruptured Achilles. My injury is a bit different.  I am still uncertain if it will take longer to recover or if I might recover more quickly than from a rupture. I just read a few postings that suggest it might take longer since a tendon was removed from one part of my foot to repair the Achilles. One day at a time…

Once I am set up I will add a blog on the site but I will connect it to this blog.

Other News: National Weight Control Registry and NPR

I will start with NPR.  They have been doing a series of stories on obesity in America. This morning’s segment was on why doctor’s don’t talk to patients about losing weight.  Basically, because insurance doesn’t pay for that kind of advice and because people don’t respond anyway.  (I have been reading about this in my health studies courses already.)  I am glad that my doctor did talk to me, time and time again. He did not give up encouraging me to lose weight because of the risks I was taking with my health and because of my family history. It finally clicked and I have done it, as you know if you have been reading this blog. So I am very glad to have Dr. Laubenthal as a physician – thank you.

I also filled out the paperwork to be part of the National Weight Control Registry. This is a research study that follows participants for five years to study the successes of weight loss. You have to have lost at least 30 pounds and kept it off for a year to be considered. Documentation is required and there are follow up surveys and questions. I decided to apply for the registry as part of my strategy to keep on track. It is one more piece of accountability that will help me succeed.

My biggest fear going into surgery was that I would gain a lot while I was sitting and recovering. So far I have not but you can see that I am being well fed.  I continue to watch what I eat and control how much and how often I am eating. So I am still tracking each day. Once I can exercise again it will be better.  Getting around with a walker is a pretty good workout though. I do need the upper body strength that I have developed and it can be strenuous, depending on how far I have to go in the house and what I am trying to do. I am limited by my lack of mobility about how much I eat and what I eat. It is a challenge to carry food and drinks in a basket attached to a walker.

Challenges

I will write more after my doctor’s appointment on Thursday.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, diet, Dr. Laubenthal, exercise, injury, progress, recovery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

