Ah, New York

I am in New York for my last meeting as member of the MLA International Bibliography committee. Getting here did not go quite as planned, thanks to the unexpected snowstorm on the East Coast. It took 17 hours to get here on Saturday. I seem to have travel delays fairly often, but I’m not alone. It just seems to be the way travel is these days. I find that I don’t really get terribly upset about delays anymore. There isn’t much I can really do and it isn’t the gate agents fault that we are stuck or delayed. I wound up in Syracuse for several hours yesterday, along with almost everyone else who was trying to fly to JFK, LaGuardia or Newark. Most of the JFK and Newark flights were simply cancelled so I was glad I was going into LGA. The only thing that truly got to me yesterday was the almost two hour shuttle ride since it was winding around the theater district and I was supposed to be at the theater last night. Oh well.

On the plane I remembered that last year was the first time I didn’t have to use a seat belt extender on the plane. I remember how excited I was and texting Sam about it.  This year I have made even more progress, despite the boot.  It was also on this trip last year that I found Krista Schultz and David Glover and She Does Tri camp. I was searching for information about women and triathlons since I had just decided that I wanted to do one. I am very happy I discovered the website and found Krista and David.

By this morning all the snow in the city was gone. It was around 45 degrees when I went out around noon.  I slept for 9 hours. It was great.

Shopping

Before going to the theater, I went shopping.  I’m still surprised that I can shop in regular stores, and even more surprised when smaller sizes than I expect fit. Both happened today.

j. crew store near Rockefeller Plaza

Espirit and j.crew sweaters

The rest of the afternoon – wandering around and seeing Follies. Bernadette Peters is exceptional in the show.

New York

Skating rink at Rockefeller Center

Rockefeller Center

Yankees Store (for Dr. Laubenthal)

Follies at the Marquis

It was a pleasant day to walk around the city.  I shopped, ate a hot dog, and made my way from Rockefeller Center to Times Square.  I enjoyed the day. I wanted to go to the Top of the Rock but the wait was too long.

I will have to import the photos of the M&M’s store later. They are on my phone and some are posted on Facebook. The store is silly and pretty fun. The Hershey store is across the street. There is a whole lot of chocolate on that corner.

Eating was not my main focus today, which is also quite a change. Breakfast was oatmeal, lunch was a hot dog, dinner soup and a salad. I had some m&m’s (come on, the store is 3 stories of candy) and a glass of wine.  All in all, not a bad eating day.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in camp, change, David Glover, Dr. Laubenthal, Krista Schultz, Sam, She Does Tri. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ah, New York

  1. Chara Watson says:

    I’m so glad you’re having a good time. I went to NY for the first time on a trip with Josh in the winter and I remember how fun it was just to get to see everything and just be there.
    Also, I’m telling my students that I have a friend who is a member of the MLA International Bibliography committee, so they won’t try to mess with me anymore. What’s more frightening than that?

Leave a Reply

