Not looking back

The last week or so Sam and I have been working on getting my heart rate up during my workouts. It is steadily climbing.  I had hit a bit of a plateau with my weight loss. My doctor and I had talked about this and he figured out my training zones and made some suggestions. I had training zones but I hadn’t paid a lot of attention though I had been tracking my splits when I ran and swam. I also realized that I needed to get serious about tracking my food again, which I have been doing and have already written about.

I thought I was really working hard already but it is amazing to me how much harder I can actually work when I am challenged to do so, even with a boot on my left foot.  I use a Garmin to keep track of my heart rate, among other things.  The last three workouts with Sam have been a combination of stationary bike for 1-5 minutes at a time and exercises in between like squats, kettle bells, push-ups, wall balls and other things. He keeps me moving. You can see how I have progressed over the past week by the heart rate charts below:

Oct. 19, 2011

Oct. 21, 2011

Oct. 25, 2011

I  can get my heart rate up in the studio more than I can in the pool.  I only seem to be able to get up in the 120s in the pool even though I feel that I am working pretty hard. These workouts are all in the studio.

This is my new training level. I have about a week and a half until surgery. I really don’t know what to expect after surgery for recovery and getting back to working out. I am sure that I won’t be quite at this level for a while.

Working at this level has helped me break the plateau, along with keeping track of what I am eating every day.  I’m sticking to about 1500 calories a day and eating real food again. All of this makes a big difference in my progress. In the past two weeks I have dropped 9 pounds.

I think the photo I found earlier today really sums things up best:

Don't look back

Even though I will have a bit of break because of my surgery, I’m not going back.  I’m just going forward.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, diet, Dr. Laubenthal, exercise, progress, Sam, training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

